Junkin’ for Junk Sake

My mama is a junkin’ fool!  And by junkin’ I mean, every week she scours antique shops, thrift stores, consignment galleries in search of “stuff.”  What started as a means by which to accessorize her home just north of Atlanta, has now turned into a hobby.  Every week is a challenge to find the perfect accessory at a price worthy of a phone call declaring, “you’ll never believe what I paid for it!”  I’m tellin’ ya, she’s slip-covered and recovered, sewn and stapled, painted and repainted, transported, rehabbed and upcycled like you wouldn’t believe! 

I, on the other hand, have a full time job so my window of opportunity for treasure hunting is small.  My methodology is fast and furious:   The Saturday Yard Sale Spree.  There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of pulling up to a yard sale to see a retro chair in need of a good home for the price of next to nothing.  There’s also nothing more heartbreaking than to see that same chair being loaded into the car in front of you. 

 So now that her home is exactly like she likes it (for now) and my home is exactly how I like it (for now), how do we continue to feeding our addiction?  I mean, sure we can continue with our respective junkin’ and yard salin’ but what will we do with our treasures? 

It hit me one Saturday afternoon while perusing the local antique mall.  There was a sign on one of the booth’s that called out to me:  AVAILABLE.  I immediately grabbed my cell phone.  First, I informed mama the rooster themed pot rack she had her eye on was on sale (she passed) then I told her about the booth availability.  We decided we’d sleep on it and reconvene.  Well, sleep wasn’t necessary because we decided that afternoon we were going to give it a shot!  And why wouldn’t we?  We could both continue feeding the beast, while no longer accumulating, albeit perfect in everyway, “stuff”.  One only has so much room for said stuff ya know!

SO the ball started rolling last week.  We have both combined a few items we already have, those that are ready to provide happiness to the next home.  We went on the tour of mama’s favorite shops in north Georgia.  And we went yard salin’ this weekend where I am proud to say the fabric for the, soon-to-be rehabbed dressing chair has already been purchased. 

So there you have it.  A bit of a backstory, and a little insight as to what’s to come.  I can’t wait to see what the future holds!

1 Comment

Filed under Saturday Junkin'

One response to “Junkin’ for Junk Sake

  1. Pingback: The Early Bird Gets the Worm « My Monkey Hill

Leave a Reply

