Men Deserve Makeovers, Too!

This is only my third time participating in the Thrifty Mondays Party over at the Southern Hospitality blog and already its turned into a party that I look forward to attending.  Only, this time (again, only my third) I don’t have any pictures from this Saturday’s junkin’ excursion…at least not yet.  (Gosh, I hope I’m not blackballed.) They’re coming–I promise!

Although yard sales were nearly nonexistent this weekend (duh, it just hit me that it IS a holiday weekend) I did pick up a nice piano bench of which will receive a proper makeover.

But you know what?  I didn’t feel connected to it the way I did to this gal.  Nonetheless, we decided to bring him home anyway.  That’s right, I said “him”.  You know, kinda oblivious to the fact that he needs a makeover.  Men never feel as though they are candidates for makeovers.  We’ve all seen the talk shows where the unexpecting man wearing the Dickie pants, with long hair and a scruffy beard is pulled from the audience and transformed into a clean shaven, suit wearin’, GQ magazine model.  If this bench could talk, I am sure he would say, “What?  There ain’t nuthin’ wrong with me.  I’m just fine the way I am.  I’ve been wearin’ this same look for 40 years so there ain’t no sense in me changin’ now.”

Boy is he in for a rude awakening!  I’m willing to bet he’s got one heckuva story to tell.  Y’all stay tuned…

Leave a comment

Filed under Saturday Junkin'

Leave a Reply

