“Oh the Places I’ll Go”

Over a donated beer at our favorite local pub, I announced to my friend that I had tossed in the towel of security.  “I quit my job a few days ago,” I offered.  I waited impatiently for his response.  He thought for a moment and what he said was quite unexpected:  “Think about how great you are going to feel when you don’t wake up dreading another day.”

I didn’t know what to say!  I expected for him to affirm that I was, just as I had suspected, insane.  A decision of this magnitude was not only ballsy, but would require a bold, confident explanation.  Both of which I don’t have:  balls or an explanation.  Who quits their job cold turkey with no other source of income and without having another job lined up?  Especially in this, The Great Recession?! I expected the barrage of questions I had already been asking myself:  What will everyone think?  What if people think I’ve lost my mind?  What kind of explanation do I offer?  What if I can’t find another job?  What if I run out of money?  What if?  What if?  What if?

I am pleased to report that my friend was right!  Dread is not a word in my vocabulary.  Not today!  Any other Sunday  I would either be drinking so as not to think about tomorrow, or trying to stay up as late as possible clinging on to what was left of the weekend.  This morning, I found myself awash in nothing but positive feelings about my new future and damn it feels good!  I can’t help but think of the Dr. Seuss book, “Oh the Places You’ll Go”:

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.  You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  You’re on your own.  And you know what you know.  And you are the one who’ll decide where to go…” Dr. Seuss

I am excited about the opportunities that lie ahead.  To learn new things, see new places, meet new people.  Granted, there is still a lot of work to be done so rest assured I am not in vacation mode.  I am smart enough to know these opportunities don’t just walk up on the porch and knock politely.  My alarm is set to go off bright and early because I have things to do and people to see!  Yes indeed, tomorrow is going to be a great day!!

As I jump up and high-five myself, I offer a gentle reminder:  “Easy young grasshopper, this could still be a bumpy ride.”

2 Comments

Filed under Day Dreamin', Life

2 responses to ““Oh the Places I’ll Go”

  1. Gregory

    I know this comment will never pass moderation for some reason, but anyway: I love this post. My first guest starring appearance on Monkey Hill!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

