“Laissez le bon temps rouler!”

While in college, the fraternity of which I was associated threw a party every spring called Old South.   The brothers would march to the Panhellenic dorm and with much fanfare, announce they had succeeded from the University.  A declaration stating that, for this weekend, University rules would most certainly be broken therefore by succeeding, the organization could not be held accountable for any words or actions that may later be deemed unfit.

I made a similar declaration yesterday, albeit silent, but just as symbolic.  A special time of year has begun–more festive and gluttonous than Christmas itself–Mardi Gras!  I plan to take even further advantage of my sabbatical and celebrate as only a true sabbatican would!

I climbed into the attic and retrieved my Mardi Gras decorations.  I wanted this special holiday to know it had my full support.  For the transom above the front door, I fashioned a swag out of green and purple tulle, and accented each corner with complimentary Mardi Gras masks.  With all the pageantry of an Olympic medal ceremony, I draped a giant set of beads around the base of my Mardi Gras flag. And last but not least, the most symbolic of them all, I hung a gold wreath featuring a single sequinned Mardi Gras mask on my front door.  Representative of a protective shield, this wreath shall serve as a reminder to both me and my guests.  Leave all your worries at the curb for now is no time for negativity.  This is Mardi Gras, and I do declare:  Laissez le bon temps rouler!

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Mardi Gras, Suddenly Sabbatical

4 responses to ““Laissez le bon temps rouler!”

  1. Gregory

    What a wonderful time to be a sabbatican (love that word). Color me jealous.

  2. Amanda

    I think I would like to live the life of a sabbatican!

Leave a Reply

