A Toast to Olga and the Dress Rehearsal

My goal is to blog about Mardi Gras in some form or fashion everyday until Fat Tuesday.  Lofty goal, I know.  Those readers that know me, know I thoroughly enjoyed blogging about Mardi Gras last year with the help of Olga the Traveling Bra, so I am going to try it again.

First, a little history.  Because I had to nurse myself through a bout of depression brought on by Olga’s departure and weeks of overindulgence, I semi-retired from blogging at the end of the 2009 Mardi Gras season.  The blog itself, although defunct, is still available for viewing.  I strongly encourage you to treat yourself to at least a few of the blog posts I wrote during Olga’s visit by clicking here. Matter of fact, I suggest you get to know Olga the Traveling Bra yourself by clicking here.  She is quite the charmer and touched the hearts of a lot of people while she was in town last year.  My friends and I share fond memories of her and her crazy shenanigans!  So we raise our glasses and offer a collective Mardi Gras toast to Olga and her blog mistress in the hopes that they are well.

Now although Olga is unavailable this year to play the starring role in the blog, I am going to give it a shot on my own.  I am coming out of retirement to see if I’ve still got what it takes!  So speaking of characters…

We had an impromptu dress rehearsal last night.  Dress rehearsal you ask?  Well, beginning today*, we will be blessed with Mardi Gras parades every night (and day) until Fat Tuesday!  Why impromptu?  That’s AE’s fault really.  Always is.  She’ll eventually learn my current place of residence is Bizarro world and will be more careful when making the suggestion to do something that, not too long ago, I would have declined.  Impromptu trip to Mexico? Why the hell not!  Go out on a school night?  I ain’t got nothin’ to do tomorrow!  So we gave ourself a midnight curfew and off we went.

Three stops in all, we mingled with folks from the transportation industry at Veet’s, overheard my new favorite blow-off at Gabriel’s, and brought the night to a close by sampling an array of beers at Hopjacks.  [I’d like to note the irony of how that now my income is somewhere around $0, my adult beverage of choice has shifted from strictly domestic beer to a mixture of high gravity beers, martinis and bourbon.  I have the feeling its characteristic of a true Sabbatican.]  Unfortunately, when all was said and done, we were (only) an hour past our curfew.  But, I will say, we had the kind of night only possible by being impromptu in nature.   Ladies and gentlemen, we are officially ready for the Opening Act of Mardi Gras 2010!

*Lucky for us, tonight’s parade was rained out.  Lucky for two reasons:  1.  That means two good parades will roll back-to-back tomorrow night.  2.  Last night’s dress rehearsal went better than expected so we need tonight to rest.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Mardi Gras, Memories, Suddenly Sabbatical

2 responses to “A Toast to Olga and the Dress Rehearsal

  1. Amanda

    I now know that when I “pull your card” I better have on my dancing shoes! Laissez le bon temps rouler!

Leave a Reply

