Muffin Tops to 5K

As you know, I have quite a bit of time on my hands these days.  And with that time, it appears as though I have chosen to eat and drink everything in sight, making for a case of the muffin tops.  You know, when that little extra something peers out of the top of your pants to form what looks like a muffin.  My awareness of this condition has been made obvious by my ever tightening pants.  It should be noted that my desire to rid myself of the muffin tops has absolutely nothing to do with health, but rather, vanity.  That’s it.  Nothing more.  Hey, 2011 will be here before we know it!  Surely I’ve allowed enough time to get myself back in check.

So how will I combat my condition?  I decided a few weeks ago that I would make an effort to sweat at least three or four times a week.  I’ve walked around the neighborhood a number of times, worked in the yard a few times, nothing spectacular, but activity nonetheless.  Then this past week, while enjoying a wonderful evening of food and fellowship at a friend’s house, I was introduced to the Couch to 5K program.  Hmmm, I thought.  I have always been curious about running as a sport.  All of the runners I’ve ever met enjoy it thoroughly and are bummed when they miss their daily run.  Not to mention, true runners have the most beautiful legs…again, it’s all about vanity.

To give you an idea of what the program is all about, I copied a pasted a snippet from the C25K website.

The Couch to 5k in 9 weeks running program

C25K, is a fantastic program that’s been designed to get just about anyone from the couch to running 5 kilometers or 30 minutes in just 9 weeks. With the help of the Couch to 5k program, In less than seven months, I went from a 47 year old, 104kg, 30 cigarettes a day sort of guy to an 82kg, 0 cigarettes, running 45 to 50 kilometers a week sort of guy. Ten months after finishing C25K I completed my first marathon. Since then I have run another 3 marathons, as well as 3 ultra marathons including a 100km race.

Its secret is that it’s a gentle introduction to getting the body moving, starting off alternating between walking and running small distances, and slowly building up until after 8 weeks, you’re ready to run 5 kilometers or 30 minutes non stop.

This was taken from the Cool Running website:  Week One

Week Workout 1 Workout 2 Workout 3
1 Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.

The internet offered lots of information on the C25K program (code name for the secret society) including success stories, tips, etc.  So after reading hundreds of comments discussing the ease of the program even for those that have never run a day in their life, I said to myself, “Oh, I got this!  Goodbye jiggly thighs and hello shapely calves!”  Vanity, remember?

So I’m going to give it a shot.  The number one excuse for not exercising is not having the time.  Lord knows I’ve got an abundance of that!  Music is going to be the key because I am going to need the company of something a little more than a stop watch.  A quick scan of some of my fast-paced music rendered Irene Cara’s “What a Feeling” and Bonnie Tyler’s “Holding Out for a Hero”.  Heck, I even threw in “It Keeps You Runnin'” by the Doobie Brothers.  But the clincher is going to be the motivation of  “Buttons” by the Pussycat Dolls, because after all, the goal is to be so smoking hot that the floor under my feet will burst into flames every time I dance in my knee high leather boots.

Wish me luck!!


Leave a comment

Filed under C25K, Vanity

Leave a Reply

