“Amazing”

I am naive.  No, really I am.  Especially when it comes to swimming in shark infested waters.  I’ve heard about the precautions you should take, but I guess I’ve had the same mentality of those people that say, “Oh it’ll never happen to me.  I’m careful.”  Bleh.

I don’t even know how it came up.  I wish I could because anytime you’re witness to a bomb dropping, chances are, you are experiencing something that raises your eyebrows.  One of those moments like “where were you when you heard…?”

But I’m not mad because the funny thing is, while I’ve been on this sabbatical, life has happened to a lot of people.  And while I’ve been having the time of my life, there are some things, heartbreaking things, that are happening to people and they don’t even realize it.  Right now, they probably don’t see the light at the end of tunnel.  It’s real bad, and everyday when the alarm clock goes off, they reluctantly peek out from under their bedsheets in the hopes that it was all a bad dream.  And when they shake the cobwebs from their brain and realize it’s all a reality, they take a deep breath and say, “I’ve only got 15 more hours until I don’t have to think about it anymore.”

It makes me incredibly sad in a helpless sort of way.  Where you wish you could put your arm around the person’s shoulder, take them to the crystal ball and show them that everything will be OK.  But I can’t.  So I sit back and try to find solace by telling myself that life’s lessons are best learned the hard way.  Hell, that’s how I learned, and look at ‘ol girl now!  Ahhh-yah-yahhh.

Like Steve Tyler said, “So I’m sayin’ a prayer for the desperate hearts tonight.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Boys, drinks, Life, Night Dreamin', Noodle Salad, Suddenly Sabbatical

Leave a comment